Plains Art Museum in Fargo, Presents, Bakken Boom!

[colored_box color=”eg. blue, green, grey, red, yellow”]DRC member, Molly McLain, Gold Boom/Critical Habitat, 2014, Mixed media on canvas. 8 x 10 in.[/colored_box]

Bakken Boom! Artists Respond to the North Dakota Oil Rush

January 29, 2015 – August 15, 2015Fred J. Donath Memorial and William and Anna Jane Schlossman Galleries, General Exhibition

Alec Soth, North Dakota Went Boom series, 2013, printed 2014, Pigment print, 20 x 15 in. Courtesy of the artist.

Bakken Boom! provides a striking array of artistic interpretations of North Dakota’s current oil rush, which has catapulted the state to second in the nation in oil production. The show invites you to consider the new realities in western North Dakota, and the profound impact of the energy boom on lives and the land.

Organized by Plains Art Museum, this groundbreaking exhibition curated by Becky Dunham includes 22 individual artists, three artistic collaborations, and selections from the Museum’s collection. Ranging from documentary photos and film, to sculpture, printmaking, paintings, and installations, the show reflects the many ways visual artists are exploring and commenting on the social, political, economic, and environmental dynamics of this hot topic.

Featuring nationally established artists such as Minneapolis photographer Alec Soth, along with emerging young talent like Chicago-area printmaker Elise Forer, the show is composed of an exciting mix of national, regional, and Fargo-Moorhead area artists, including Wayne Gudmundson, Kent Kapplinger, Meredith Lynn, Molly McLain, J. Earl Miller, Eric Syvertson, and Susanne Williams. Bakken Boom! also includes a series of short

Michael Conlan, Bounty, 2013, Backlit photograph, wheat, wood, and gold leaf, 144 x 96 x 96 in.

documentaries by The Cheddar Factory (based in Minneapolis and Williston), and the site-specific installation Road to Williston, as well as works from the Museum’s portfolio Oil and Water.

Bakken Boom! is supported by lead sponsor Doris Slaaten, with additional contributions from Yvonne Condell, Linda Olson, Walter Piehl and B.J. Zander.

Leave a Reply