District 4 Candidate Forum set for Oct. 21 in New Town

October 14, 2016

NEW TOWN, ND – Constituents in oil-producing District 4 will be able to hear directly from candidates running for State House and State Senate seats. A public candidate forum will be held at 7 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 21 at the New Town Civic Center. The nonpartisan forum is sponsored by Dakota Resource Council and Ward County Farmers Union.

In addition to an open question period from the audience, candidates will be asked about what changes related to the responsible regulation of oil and gas development they would support and their top priorities for ensuring family farms and ranches thrive.

District 4 is a competitive swing district that touches Dunn, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Mountrail, and Ward Counties and includes all of Fort Berthold Indian Reservation. Representation for a diversity of people, including farmers, ranchers, small business owners, students, and workers of all ages, is vital. This year, the Senate seat and one House seat are open and both parties are hoping to gain seats. Dakota Resource Council has a lot of members in District 4, including an affiliate – Fort Berthold Protectors of Water and Earth Rights (P.O.W.E.R.).

Confirmed State Senate Candidates:

  • Jordan Kannianen, R- Stanley
  • Tyler Stafslien, DNPL-Makoti

Confirmed State House Candidates:

  • Cesar Alvarez, DNPL-New Town
  • Bill Oliver, R-New Town
  • Kenton Onstad, DNPL-Parshall


  • Terry Jones, R-New Town


Leave a Reply